Central African Republic Trade Agreements

The Interim EPA is a «Stepping Stone» agreement. This means that the EU and partner countries will be able to deepen the agreement through «meeting» clauses that will allow negotiations on trade-related issues, such as services, competition, intellectual property, etc., to continue negotiations. The project was born out of a new partnership between UNCTAD, the African Development Bank (AfDB) and ECCAS, which aims to strengthen NTFs and support the implementation of trade facilitation reforms in Central African countries. The CAR has been a founding member of the WTO since 1995. Within the multilateral trading system, the car has come close to 62.3% of customs positions. The average rate of MFN was 17.8% in 2011, with agricultural products facing higher rates (21.9%) and non-agricultural products at slightly lower rates (17.2%). The country is also a member of regional economic communities, including: the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC), the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) and the Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD). The overlapping of these regional markets has led to restrictions on harmonization and harmonization of trade policy. The CAR applies CEMAC`s Common External Customs Duty (CET), which, on average, is 18.1% in 2013 and grants tariff preferences to imports from other CEMAN countries. Despite the establishment of the free trade area between CEMAC countries, the level of intra-EU trade remains low; The Committee on Energy, Energy, Energy, Energy, Energy, Energy, Energy, Energy, Energy, High Non-Tariff Barriers, such as Overloading Goods; Random checkpoints along corridors; Highway robbers; and the poor condition of major highways are obstacles to regional trade (African Development Bank 2013). It will cover the technical aspects of trade facilitation and enable better reform planning, with national roadmaps for trade facilitation for all countries. Five Central African countries – Chad, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Congo, the Central African Republic and Equatorial Guinea – will benefit from the Enhanced Trade Facilitation Committees (UNCTAD) programme. Bangui`s training brings to nearly 400 the number of people trained in the use of the harmonised preferential customs regime ECCAS-CEMAC to increase intra-regional trade in Central Africa to nearly 400 in six countries in the sub-region.

Lucio • 5 diciembre, 2020

Previous Post

Next Post